Urban Hiking

SF Walk

I stole the term “urban hiking” from a friend in NYC. But here in San Francisco, going for a city walk is surprisingly close to the real thing. It’s such a beautiful city, with hidden walkways hedged with gorgeous flowers, sea lions lazing in the sun. And practically vertical uphill climbs that will keep those legs in shape!

SF Walk 3
Loved these guys. Nothing to do but lay out in the sun and occasionally honk at each other for more space. Good life!

I used to be so much better at making time to be a tourist in my own town. To be more observant, appreciative of small details that make life beautiful, fleeting moments that make strangers more human.

But since moving to SF, work has spun my world into a blur of stress and largely constrained my range of motion to the two-mile stretch between work and home. The worst part is, stress tends to compound itself by making me feel too busy or crazed to make time for the things that keep me sane.

This weekend, I successfully forced myself out the door for a 2.5-hour walk around “my” city, one that I have called home for nearly two years yet still know far too little about. No map, no agenda. My meanderings led me to so many beautiful places, hidden in plain sight.

SF Walk
Most amazing stumble-upon of the day.

Resolved: I need to do this more. (And with a real camera next time!)

2 thoughts on “Urban Hiking

  1. I was going to ask you how you dealt with those insane steep hills! I remember walking up one with my family when we visited SF in 2006 and wanting to die. Do only the tourists take the cable cars? Because I was rather envious of all the tourists in them!

    1. Haha, it’s great exercise! I live up Nob Hill, so I walk uphill every day. And I do take the cable car home some evenings when the line’s not too long — it’s absolutely one of my favorite things to do!

Leave a Reply

