A Gourmande in Paris

I understand now why the French say, au revoir. One somehow always ends up going back.

To my surprise, I felt right at home when I surfaced from the Metro at Les Halles. It helps, of course, that I have been to the very same spot before–I had stayed with A on my last trip to Paris, too.

We went to a nearby bar, Le Vieux Léon, where friends of A’s friends were playing a show. The performers were a singer/pianist + singer/guitarist duo called the Talking Shadows, and they were quite good. Also, all the songs they sang were in English. I appreciated that.

Then we went to dinner at Comptoir de la Gastronomie, a very cozy and incredibly delicious restaurant nearby. I wasn’t even all that hungry, but I mean, I was in Paris. So I went for it. I ordered La Gourmande: duck foie gras, gizzard, smoked breast and wing on a mesclun and tomato salad. Yes, my mouth is watering too. It was increible!

paris3

For dessert, Earl Grey panna cotta infused with orange and served with berries. I have no words. It was one of the most amazing meals I may have ever had.

Paris, je t’aime!

2 thoughts on “A Gourmande in Paris

Leave a Reply

