A Girl Walks into a Bar. So Many Times.

Flowers for my first day of work! Love.

I have walked into so many bars (ouch!) and coffee shops trying to find a job. Sooo many happy hours and business cards, cover letters and emails, and a fair share of ups and downs over the last few months. All I have to say about that is… job searching is no joke!

But after 16 weeks of living out of a suitcase, 14 weeks of couchsurfing around the Bay area and more interviews and applications than I care to count, I’m employed! I started work on Monday, moved into a sublet on Wednesday, and life is generally starting to feel a little less frenetic.

Hopefully that means I’ll start to have more time for blog-worthy adventures exploring California’s great outdoors! But in the meantime I’d thought I’d share my lesson-learned from job searching.

Job searching tip #1: Go to every happy hour / networking event you can work up the energy to go to. And then work up the energy to go to some more. Smile, make a good impression, get a business card, follow up. You never know which door you knock on will open.

That’s how I ended up in my job–I connected with my current boss at a happy hour a month ago. Good thing I walked into that bar!

2 thoughts on “A Girl Walks into a Bar. So Many Times.

Leave a Reply

