Asian Woman, As You Were

I went to a fab event this evening–more on this later. Briefly, it was an art show opening in the Mission. I got there right at starting time, and a few people were already milling about, munching on the assorted finger foods and admiring the art.

The following story in no way lessened my enjoyment of the event. But it’s worth sharing.

A middle-aged man, not pictured, passed by as I was sampling the chips and salsa.

Him: “How’s it going?”
Me: “Mm.. it’s really nice!”
Him: “And you’re just eating the food, are you?”
Me: [Munch, munch.] “Well, it’s pretty good.”
Him: “Because that’s what Asian women do at these events.”
Me: [Pause. Munch.] “Do they? I didn’t realize that was a thing.”
Him: “Yes, it’s a pejorative stereotype that people have.”
Me: … [At this point I give up and just start shoving chips and salsa in my face to avoid conversation.]
Him: “But that’s not what you’re doing.”

Uh, right. Nice save.

6 thoughts on “Asian Woman, As You Were

  1. Okay. So I’ve been following your blog for quite some time now without leaving a comment, but I just had to say something now. You’re blog is fantastic. I hardly travel so it’s so wonderful to see all of these pictures and read about the places you’ve been to. The blurbs of conversation are often pretty funny (like the one above. As a fellow asian woman I must say: Really? That’s a thing? Haha!) and well, it all just brings a smile to my face and smiling is always a good thing, don’t you think?

    1. Aww, thanks kristelis! I’m glad you commented (I like interaction!) and that you’ve been enjoying the blog/travels. I’m not sure myself when I’ll be on the road again, so in the meantime I thought I’d share these little moments of profound awkwardness. I aim to amuse, so to hear that it makes you smile makes me happy too! :)

  2. Totally wish I’d known you were there — was just in the Mission this evening! In other news, just discovered this blog and find it delightful :) ~Kony

  3. I didn’t realize that was a stereotype about Asian women either… or maybe that’s just something that random guy came up with! I have never heard that before in my life.

Leave a Reply

