And Then I Had Lunch with a Bunch of Spies

Before I went into SF last week, and before my brother bought me an iPhone for my birthday (thankyou!), I read this article in The Onion: Brave Woman Enters Restaurant without First Looking It up Online.

Since I had no recourse and I was starving, I put on my bravest face and ducked into the nearest decent-looking restaurant. I ended up at a hole in the wall called Akiko’s Sushi Bar. It had only four small tables, so a group of three guys (in their 30s and 40s, I’d guess) invited me to join theirs. Since I was already feeling adventurous, I figured, why not?

THEY WERE ALL SPIES.

Spy #1: So, do you live here?
Me: I just moved here–looking for jobs. You guys?
Spy #1: We’re here for a conference. [Points to Spy #3] He’s the only one who actually lives here.
Me: What’s your conference about?
[Awkward silence. Spies #1-3 exchange furtive looks.]
Spy #3: Err… homeland security type stuff.
Me: OMYGOD ARE YOU SPIES?
Spy #3: You don’t know that. You could be a spy.
Me: [As I pull out my camera.] You know, I’m actually a blogger, so I’m totally going to write about the time I had lunch with a bunch of spies.
Spy #2: She’s going to go back and activate her facial recognition technology on you.
Me: [Camera poised squarely above my bowl.] What?! You see? You ARE spies!!!
Spy #1: Seriously. She’s just trying to take a photo of her food and you go ballistic on her.

They were so CIA and not subtle about it at all. Don’t they have to undergo some kind of training on how to be normal or something?

12 thoughts on “And Then I Had Lunch with a Bunch of Spies

  1. Hahaha this is so hilarious. Kudos to you for having lunch with strangers! I can’t remember when was the last time I did that… And seriously they need to learn be more normal! Did they seriously not rehearse what to say when people ask them what they do?!

    1. Hahaha, it’s not something I do often, but it is fun how being open to something random can lead to an encounter like this, right? All the more reason to be less OCD about planning and Yelping things and just go with the flow I say :)

  2. That is such a funny story. They sound like really nice guys though since they invited you over to join their table (odd but nice guys). And this is a bit random, but if you ever are in DC, go to the Spy Museum. It is one of the coolest museums I’ve ever been to. A bit on the pricey side, but totally worth it!

    1. Yeah, they actually were really nice! And the spy museum sounds great. If I’d had more time in Berlin, I totally would have gone to the museum there about Cold War espionage–the Stasi Museum, I think it’s called.

Leave a Reply

