New England: Martha’s Vineyard & Cape Cod

The great thing about this trip was that I didn’t have to plan anything. After a year of planning way too many travels, what a treat! Major kudos to the Bro for being our tour guide.

The downside? Since I didn’t have to do any of the planning, I didn’t retain as much information as I normally would. So New England to me is just a blur of lighthouses and lobsters.

And great news: apparently there’s a glut of lobsters this season thanks to global warming, so head on up one of these last summer weekends and treat yourself to a melty-buttery-lobster!

MARTHA’S VINEYARD

Taking the ferry from Somewhere, Massachusetts. (Bro, if you’re reading this, help fill me in on the details here? Haha.)

Lobster roll! There was also some New England Clam Chowder involved here.

What was forecasted as a “chance of rain” turned into a hurling-cats-and-dogs-sideways torrential downpour. When it’s sunny in Martha’s Vineyard there’s so much to enjoy, but when it rains and you’re chilled to the bone it’s just kind of miserable. So this lighthouse and a bus ride is unfortunately pretty much all we saw of Martha’s Vineyard!

CAPE COD

The Nauset Lighthouse, the one featured on the Cape Cod kettle cooked chips bag. Incidentally, we went to see the potato chip factory–free self-guided tours, and free bags of chips! You’ll leave smelling scrumptiously of oily potato chips.

A bit of background that I actually remember: this lighthouse had to be moved a few hundred feet back from the shore due to erosion.

The visitor center at Salt Pond had a bit of interesting background about the geology of the Cape. The Cape is the little part of Massachusetts shaped like an elf’s very pointy shoe. Surrounded by water on all sides, the Cape also has a string of freshwater ponds called kettle ponds–little inlets left behind when glaciers receded ages ago.

The sand was burning hot, and the water was freezing cold. No such thing as a happy medium in Cape Cod, eh?

PROVINCETOWN

Rainbows everywhere! Provincetown, which is located at the very northern tip of the pointy elf shoe, is the gay-friendliest town I’ve ever been to. But I haven’t visited the Castro district in San Francisco yet, so I may revise that statement soon.

 

We went to the Lobster Pot for lunch, where we had a clambake. Which strangely enough, featured a huge lobster with a few small clams on the side. So why is it called a clambake?

I miss you, London.

A monument to the Pilgrims, who stopped here briefly first before touching down at Plymouth.

The beach and boats at Provincetown.

In the evening we went to the Coast Guard beach, where the smell and smoke of distant campfires wafted invitingly down the beach.

The sunset… at which point those lighthouses actually become functional.

Goodbye lobsters! And thanks again to Bro for making the trip happen.

7 thoughts on “New England: Martha’s Vineyard & Cape Cod

  1. I spent a week on Martha’s Vineyard last summer! I know the lighthouse in your picture, it’s the Edgartown Lighthouse! (And also where my family stayed). We had one pretty bad rainy day and yes, it was pretty miserable! However we had nice sunny weather for the rest of the week. I thought the Vineyard was a little overrated honestly but it is a very beautiful island. We missed the Obamas by two weeks I think, I was a little frustrated by that! haha

    1. I think if I’d only gone on this trip, I might have thought it was overrated too. But I have really fond memories from when I stayed with a friend’s family on the Vineyard some years ago–watching open-air movies, biking around the island, taking the sailboat out… lots of all-American activities I hadn’t really done before. The experience was pretty hard to beat! :)

    1. I’m afraid I haven’t done it much justice in this post! It’s very idyllic, and probably more touristy than you might expect.

Leave a Reply

