Raindrops on Roses

 

… and whiskers on kittens,
bright copper kettles
and warm woolen mittens… 

Remember when I said I couldn’t wait until Regent’s Park would be in bloom?

Well, now it is, and it was well worth the wait! If you can’t tell by now, I love flowers. And Regent’s Park has more than 30,000 roses of 400 varieties. Which amounts to endless, endless joy. Overall the gardens aren’t quite in full bloom yet, but the wave of warmth last week sprang some early blossoms that lit up even a drizzly day.

The secret to the best walks in London’s parks, by the way, is to go on overcast days. The drizzle is very faint, barely a light mist, but it does keep the crowds of tourists away, lending these beautiful public parks the added perk of semi-privacy.

All the roses have such whimsical names and lovely smells. I didn’t bother too much about the names, but I do remember my favorite scent—these blossoms look and smell like tangerines and summertime. Mmm~

The deep reds are so brilliant, my camera can’t even handle it. Should send some feedback to Canon—it’s such a shame these lovely reds always get washed out!

These look like lotus flowers~

Every scene you stumble upon in Regent’s Park is so picturesque!

Sorry if posting this many photos is overkill, but I just couldn’t get enough!

The thing about Regent’s Park that’s the real treat is not just how much there is, but also how beautifully cultivated everything is. The Queen Mary Garden in particular, 360 degrees of rose bushes ringed in by wood-and-rope trellises, vines, roses and dainty pansies…

I. can’t. even. When everything is a-flower here, it’s going to be the most incredible sight to behold!

Just a few more:

A Georgia O’Keefe painting.

Again with the washed-out reds :\

Willows are so elegant.

If I haven’t completely bored you on the topic of roses, I may post a few more photos if I go back on a sunny day one of these days!

14 thoughts on “Raindrops on Roses

  1. Reblogged this on solotraveldotcom and commented:
    Dear friends, One of the best things about creating a blog was the chance to find and read other travel blogs. I have loved following Convergent Journey. Jooy is both an excellent writer and photographer. Her photos of roses in Regents Park today are particularly beautiful…and anyone who titles a blog with a line from The Sound of Music is bound to get my attention!

  2. There were a lot of pictures – but I didn’t mind! I particularly love those old fashioned, blowsy informal doubles – and I can just imagine the scent. How Ma would have loved looking at them too (little tear, good one though) . Thanks for a lovely walk in Regents Park with you!

    1. I’m glad the photos were so evocative (of memories and scents, both sweet I hope!) for you. You seem to know lots more about flora than I do– which ones are the “blowsy informal doubles” you’re referring to?

      1. Well, the first one, for a start. Really, any multi-rowed petal configuration that has no structured centre, or heart. The one you remark as being like a Georgia O’Keefe painting is NOT a blowsy informal double!

      2. Thanks! Very interesting–I wish I knew more about these things. What makes them old-fashioned, as opposed to ones that do have a structured centre? To my eye, those look more like a ‘classic’ rose configuration, so I thought those might be the old-fashioned ones rather than the others.

  3. Thanks for sharing. I’m having some flower pleasure of my own lately along el Camino de Santiago in Spain, especially the last few days as I’ve encountered rose bushes with more blossoms than I’ve ever seen in little villages along the trail … like this http://tinyurl.com/7fz2fwl . You may like my flower photo post from my first few days along the Camino too… http://nicfreeman.com/2012/05/17/following-flowers-and-shells-a-photo-walk-along-el-camino-de-santiago-spain/ Thanks again, Nic

  4. Roses are so beautiful. I’ve never been brave egunoh to plant them in my garden your pictures are making me want to run out and buy a few rose bushes right now! They’re all so beautiful my favourite is the orangey-red rose in the fourth picture.

Leave a Reply

