Everything’s Coming up Roses

When the sun shines in London, you think there’s no prettier place in the world. Truly. Now that I have less than two months left here, and especially now that the sun is out and the days are warm, I count my blessings every day. So thankful to be here. So beautiful, this city. I miss it already.

One of the best things about my time in London is that I live with Hyde Park at my doorstep. On one of my jogs last week, I was stopped dead in my tracks at this breathtakingly beautiful sight:

The Rose Garden is finally in bloom!

You know all those things you hear about the prized English rose, and how the English love gardening, and the annual rose contest they have on Downton Abbey…. Well, it’s delightful to find the stereotype to be so wonderfully true. I have so much respect for the gardeners who tend England’s parks and gardens. It really does seem to be the national pastime/passion here! And they do an absolutely brilliant job.

I ran the rest of the way with the dorkiest grin on my face. I got a lot of funny stares from passersby, but how could I help it? It’s too lovely for words. So the next day, I went back with my camera.

The beautiful golden light + the prettiest flowers = such happiness :]

A lovely lavender.

Yellow roses might be my favorite. Look at how that bloom just goes on and on and on!

Ninja-star-pinwheel rose.

Just look at that! I can’t even deal. It’s so beautiful.

Roooosebud.

The irises were looking a little droopy, but this one was hanging in there!

Incredible.

So delicate!

Rosebush with baby blooms!

I’ll be honest. Until I saw an English rose garden, I never really understood what made roses so-o-o-o beautiful. All I’d ever seen were the ones you buy at the grocery store or the florist, bouquets with small rosebuds that have barely even opened. Every once in a while, you see a nice (and expensive-looking) bouquet with full, heavy blossoms.

But this? This is nature’s masterpiece.

6 thoughts on “Everything’s Coming up Roses

Leave a Reply

