Behavioural Economics: Know Thyself

I can’t believe I’m almost done with grad school! I still have all my finals to get through, but my friends back at SIPA are graduating this week.

To my SIPA mates, CONGRATULATIONS!!! Our two years of grad school flew, especially since I missed one of them :\ But our days and nights of bonding over cardboardy pizza, grueling econ problem sets, all-night paper writing and running STATA commands til the cows came home… They counted for a lot of memories and dear friendships. I miss you all, wish I were there with you and know you’ll go on to rock the world.

At least they let us use cheat sheets last year…

But whilst my friends back at SIPA are putting on their caps and gowns, my finals are just beginning. Behavioural Economics is the first exam I’ll be taking, and I anticipate it will also be the hardest. One of the concepts we’re studying is the idea of precommitments and self-control—basically, if you’re smart enough, you would know you don’t have the self-control to do the things you know you should do. It’s like that confusing passage in Romans 7, “For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing”. So you force your own hand by making a precommitment. Try reading this fascinating (and layman-friendly, not too wonky) article to get an idea of how it works.

In view of what I’m studying and what I know I’m prone to do, I hereby precommit myself to not write about my upcoming week-long trip to Scotland and the Lake District (so excited!) until AFTER my final is done. If you see me posting anything on this blog between now and the 28th of May, please give me a virtual slap on the wrist.

Thanks, and see you in two weeks!

6 thoughts on “Behavioural Economics: Know Thyself

Leave a Reply

