Pass the Popcorn, I’m Watching Politics

Watching British politics is so much more engaging than the yawn session that is C-SPAN.

I just discovered Prime Minister’s Questions after reading a short article in The Evening Standard about how Tony Blair, David Cameron and Ed Milliband have all talked about wanting to change the tone of these “Punch and Judy” (Cameron), “yah-boo” (Blair), “schoolchildren shouting at each other” (Milliband) sessions. That’s what they say, yet they seem to enjoy it so much. Listen in on this session from last year, for example:

December 1, 2010: Debating the Economy

Milliband: It’s no wonder that… the Foreign Secretary describes this gang as “the children of Thatcher.”
Cameron: Let me say this, I’d rather be a child of Thatcher than a son of Brown.

[Start the clip below @ 5:35]

Good golly, they do this every week! No wonder British politicians are so much more eloquent than American ones… it takes some steely nerve and quick wit to keep up with all that rapid-fire debate, especially with the hemming and hawing all over the place.

Contrast that with Rick Perry’s moment of not-so-greatness! Yup, it never gets old:

Even before I knew just how raucous the PMQs can get, I had read in my London guidebook that you can attend Parliamentary sessions for free, and now I definitely have to go! UK residents can contact their MPs to request tickets, and though I don’t have residency status, I do live here, so I thought it would be worth a shot.

So tonight, I wrote the most awkward, stilted email to my MP. It all came out very awkward because (a) I didn’t really know what to say or ask for; and (b) since tickets are only given to UK residents, I tried to sound British in my email. So I used lots of as instead of “because” and requested tickets for 29th February rather than “February 29th,” etc.

I hope I get to attend a session! I’ll throw in a few YAH HEAR HEARs and maybe a PREACH IT BROTHER for good measure.

2 thoughts on “Pass the Popcorn, I’m Watching Politics

  1. hi! i don’t think you have to be a UK resident to sneak in… yang and i snuck into parliament in the evening to watch the house of commons debate. it was pretty funny – they were all wearing wigs and (not so discreetly) poking fun of each other with that british wit =P

    1. yep absolutely, it’s just if you want to request advance tickets, bc the sessions are popular and they say you usually have to wait one or two hours to get the tickets day-of.

Leave a Reply

