Awkward Culture Clash

With apologies to my male readers–

I needed to buy some feminine products, so I went to Boots, which is the UK equivalent to a CVS or Duane Reade. There happened to be a sale on feminine products, but the labeling was confusing, and I’ve had a number of times when I’ve tried to purchase “2 for £5” sale items but not gotten the discount. My hunch is that, if you’re looking at a group of items by a certain brand, even within that brand grouping the sale only applies to a subset of those items. And then, you HAVE to buy two in order to get the discount. Whereas most places I’d shop in the States, if it says “2 for $5,” that means you also have the option of buying 1 for $2.50. Anyhow, it confuses the heck out of me.

So when I went to Boots and saw the sale, I tried to read the fine print. What exactly does “2 for £3 single towels and liners” mean? Hrm hrm… no idea.

I called over an employee and asked if he could tell me which items were included in the sale. Ah, the poor man. He was South Asian, middle-aged. He looked SO awkward when I asked. He sputtered, “Well, I think towels are what you put… on the… well, I mean… you should know better than I do!”

I replied, “But I’m American, this means nothing to me.”

“Aaah, I see,” he said. “I’ll go get my female colleague…”

Hahahaha. Poor guy. In case you wanted to know, “towels” are pads and “liners” are pantiliners. “Single” refers to the size of the package.

Anyway, all’s well that ends well, and sale items were successfully procured!

Leave a Reply

