Lost in Translation

Even when you’re speaking the same language, you can have difficulty communicating. (Ain’t that the truth!)

In these bits of dialogue, you have to read, or “hear,” half of it in an English accent, and half in an American accent… So use your imaginations to get your head around some real lost in translation moments I’ve had when:

Asking for water.

“What would you like to drink?”
“Could I have some water?”
“Pardon?”
“Water?”
“Oh, you mean, wa-ttuh.”
“Yes. Wadder.”

Meeting new people.

“Where are you from?”
“New York.”
“Europe? That’s rather broad.”
“I’m sorry. I’m from Nyoo YOAK.”

*This happened twice in one day. No joke.

Having an off day (this one shouldn’t have been so hard).

“Would you like a biscuit?”
“I’m sorry?”
“A biscuit?”
“Uh…”
“A cookie. Oreo. Would you like an Oreo?”

Maintaining American propriety (because I just can’t make myself say “where’s the loo/toilet?”).

“I’m going to the restroom.”
“Have a nice rest!”

One thought on “Lost in Translation

Leave a Reply

